Institutional Observers

Institutional Observers must be legal entities or natural persons representing organisations, institutions or networks, which are actively involved in European legal development.

For Institutional Observers, there is a graded fee. Non-profit organisations not representing the interests of particular stakeholders contribute upwards of EUR 250 per year, subject to individual negotiations with the ELI. The minimum fee set forth by the Statute in the case of businesses and advocacy groups is EUR 500 per year. For law firms, this fee is higher but includes the Fellowship of 3 partners. However, the specific fee depends on size and is subject to individual negotiations with the ELI.

Institutional Observers play a key role within the Institute. They are consulted on a regular basis, are entitled to propose project ideas and nominate representatives to join Advisory Committees and Members Consultative Committees (MCCs), which work closely with Project Teams at various stages of a project. Institutional Observers may also suggest individuals to work at the very core of projects, as members of project teams. In addition, Institutional Observers are free to decide when and the manner in which to provide input to projects, including whether to send representatives in person to key events such as the General Assembly and Annual Conference or communicate at a distance. They are also welcome to participate in Special Interest Groups (SIGs). Due to their active participation in the work of the ELI, they play a crucial role in guiding the ELI in its quest for better law-making in Europe. As most of the ELI’s Institutional Observers are structured as networks themselves, this constitute a very effective channel of communication through which information on the ELI’s contribution to European legal development can be shared.

Newest ELI Institutional Observers

The ELI is proud to be cooperating with the following new ELI Institutional Observers:

The Supreme Administrative Court of Finland (Korkein hallinto-oikeus) is the highest court in the Finnish administrative court system, parallel to the Supreme Court of Finland. Under the Constitution of Finland, the Supreme Administrative Court is the court of last resort in administrative cases. In criminal and civil cases, the highest judicial powers are vested in the Supreme Court. Both courts were established in 1918.

The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) has a comprehensive approach to security that encompasses politico-military, economic and environmental, and human aspects. It therefore addresses a wide range of security-related concerns, including arms control, confidence- and security-building measures, human rights, national minorities, democratisation, policing strategies, counter-terrorism and economic and environmental activities. All 57 participating States enjoy equal status, and decisions are taken by consensus on a politically, but not legally binding basis.

Full List of ELI Institutional Observers

The ELI is grateful to its current Institutional Observers, which number over 100, for the various way in which they have steadfastly demonstrated their commitment to the Institute’s causes and the betterment of European Law.

Professional Associations

  • The Association of Registrars (Colegio de Registradores de la Propiedad y Mercantiles de España)
  • The Austrian Bar (Österreichischer Rechtsanwaltskammertag, ÖRAK)
  • The Bar European Group (BEG)
  • The Council of Bars and Law Societies of Europe (Conseil des Barreaux Européens, CCBE)
  • The Council of the Notariats of the European Union (CNUE)
  • The Danish Bar and Law Society ('The Society')
  • The European Land Registry Association (ELRA)
  • The European Law Faculties Association (ELFA)
  • The European Network of Councils for the Judiciary (ENCJ)
  • The European Union of Judges in Commercial Matters (UEMC, EUJC)
  • The European Women Lawyers Association (EWLA)
  • The Expert Witness Institute (EWI)
  • The Faculty of Advocates (Scottish Bar)
  • The General Council of Spanish Lawyers (Consejo General de la Abogacia Española)
  • The German Association of Judges (Deutscher Richterbund, DRB)
  • The German Civil Law Notaries (Deutsche Bundesnotarkammer, BNotK)
  • The German Federal Bar (Bundesrechtsanwaltskammer)
  • The High Council of French Notariat (Conseil Superieur du Notariat, CSN)
  • The International Union of Judicial Officers (Union Internationale des Huissiers de Justice, UIHJ)
  • The Law Society of England and Wales
  • The Network of the Presidents of the Supreme Judicial Courts of the European Union
  • The Paris Bar Association
  • The Society of Comparative Legislation (Société de Législation Comparée)
  • The Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP)
  • The South East European Law School Network (SEELS Network)
  • The Swedish Bar Association
  • Unione Nazionale delle Camere Civili
  • The Vojvodina Bar Association

Academic and other Observers

  • The Academy of European Law (ERA)
  • The Austrian Data Protection Authority (Datenschutzbehörde)
  • The British Institute of International and Comparative Law (BIICL)
  • The Centre for Legal and Economic Research (CIJE)
  • The Centre of European Law, Dickson Poon School of Law, King’s College
  • The Commission on European Family Law (CEFL)
  • The European Legal Studies Institute (ELSI) (Juristische Fakultät Universität Osnabrück)
  • The Faculty of International Legal Relations at the National University 'Odessa Law Academy'
  • The Faculty of Law and Economics, Lleida University (Facultat de Dret i Economia - Universitat de Lleida)
  • The Faculty of Law of Belgrade University
  • The Faculty of Law of Eötvös Loránd University
  • The Faculty of Law of Ghent University
  • The Faculty of Law of Girona University
  • The Faculty of Law of Izmir University of Economics
  • The Faculty of Law of Luxembourg University
  • The Faculty of Law of Lyon Catholic University
  • The Faculty of Law of Maastricht University
  • The Faculty of Law of Sarajevo Unviersity
  • The Faculty of Law of Toulouse 1 Capitole University
  • The Faculty of Law of Trnava University
  • The Faculty of Law of Zagreb University
  • The Federal Competition Authority of Austria
  • Institut pour la Recherche Interdisciplinaire En Sciences Juridiques (JUR-I), Catholic University of Louvain 
  • The Pan European Organisation of Personal Injury Lawyers (PEOPIL)
  • The Portucalense Institute for Legal Research (IJP)
  • Queen Mary University of London (QMUL)
  • The Romanian Institute for Human Rights (RIHR)
  • The School of Law, University of Hull
  • The School of Law, University of Utrecht
  • The Scientific and Methodological Center for Mediation and Law
  • The Social Sciences Research Center, International Burch University
  • The Società Italiana per la Ricerca nel Diritto Comparato (SIRD)
  • The Stockholm Centre for Commercial Law (SCCL), Faculty of Law, Stockholm University
  • The Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin (UCD)
  • The University Institute of European Studies (IUSE)