Janskerkhof 12

3512 BL Utrecht,




+31 30 253 7193 


 +31 30 253 7203


The Commission on European Family Law (CEFL) was established on 1 September 2001. It consists of approximately 26 distinguished experts in the field of family and comparative law from all European Union Member States and other European countries.

The main objective of the CEFL is to launch a pioneering theoretical and practical exercise in relation to the harmonization of family law in Europe.

The major benefit achieved through the establishment of this Commission has been the creation of a set of Principles of European Family Law that are thought to be most suitable for the harmonization of family law within Europe. The CEFL consists of two groups: the Organising Committee and the Expert Group.