Logo der Universität Wien
You are here:>University of Vienna >ELI

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the ELI's administrative body, appointed by the Council from among the Council members, consisting of the President, the Vice-President, the Treasurer, and four ordinary members.



Diana Wallis

After a diverse legal education, in London, Liege, Zurich and Chester Diana Wallis gained over 15 years of professional experience as a litigation lawyer (solicitor), mainly in London where she developed a European cross border practice.

From 1999 to 2012 as a member of the European Parliament and particularly as a leading member of the Parliament’s Legal Affairs Committee Diana’s legislative work focused on European private international law ( as rapporteur on Brussels 1 & Rome 11 ); Contract law, ADR & mediation, collective redress, property rights, e-justice and as author of a ground breaking report on the role of the national judge in EU law.

Since leaving the European Parliament in 2012, Diana has continued her activities in the European legal field as a member of the Law Society’s EU Committee, a Trustee of the European Law Academy, Trier and a board member of the International Mediation Institute, The Hague. She is also a Senior Honorary Fellow of the Law School at the University of Hull (her local University where she previously taught part time in the 1990s developing a module on Comparative Law for joint law and language undergraduates). Diana is a keen advocate of ADR; and is a CEDR accredited Mediator and a Member of the Charter Institute of Arbitrators. 

Diana remains active as an invited speaker at many European law events and institutions across Europe.


Christiane Wendehorst

Christiane Wendehorst is professor of law at the Department of Private Law at the University of Vienna (Austria).

She is a Titular Member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and Associated Member of the International Academy of Comparative Law (IACL). She also sits on the Boards or Advisory Boards of numerous academic bodies and associations at a European or national level and is a member of various international research groups.

Christiane Wendehorst is a Founding Member of the European Law Institute.

Areas of interest: contract law, tort law (delict), property law, law of succession, conflict of laws, consumer law, medical law, comparative law.


Johan Gernandt

Johan Gernandt is a Swedish attorney. He has been the chairman of the Board of Governors of the Bank of Sweden since October 2006.

Mr. Gernandt serves as the chairman of the Stockholm Centre for Commercial Law and the Svenska Dagbladet Foundation and is a former chairman of the Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce.

He is a member of the ICC Commission on International Arbitration (Paris). He serves as an arbitrator on the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission panel list (CIETAC), the International Commercial Arbitration Commission at the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation panel list as well as the International Commercial Arbitration Court at the Ukrainian Chamber of Commerce.

Mr. Gernandt is the author of many articles on international arbitration and company law in Sweden and several other countries.

He is a Founding Member of the European Law Institute and serves on its Fundraising Committee.


Remo Caponi

Professor Caponi is a professor of civil procedure at the University of Florence (Italy).

He is a fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Germany) and a member of the International Association of Procedural Law (IAPL) Council. He is on the Board of Trustees of the European Law Academy (ERA) and the Board of Directors of the "Associazione italiana fra gli studiosi del processo civile".

Professor Caponi is a Founding Member of the European Law Institute.

Areas of interest: constitutional law, civil procedure (domestic and transnational), comparative law

Marc Clément

Marc Clément is administrative judge at Administrative Court of Appeal of Lyon (France).

From 2006 to 2012, he was a lawyer at the Directorate General Environment of the European Commission. From 2004 to 2006, he was a legal adviser of the European Environment Agency (Copenhagen). Previously he worked for private companies (Lyonnaise des Eaux, EDF).

In 2007 and 2008, he published several articles in Libération ("La présidence tricéphale de l’Union"), La Tribune ("Principe de précaution, le nombrilisme français", "Europe, suivre la voie belge … à rebours"),  and Esprit ("Europe, comment lutter contre le dumping social?", "Social Europe:a long march." He regularly publishes articles for Telos Agency.

In 2010 Judge Clément  published "EU environmental case-law," Editions Larcier. He is a member of the working group “Environment” of the Association of European Administrative Judges.

Judge Clément is a Founding Member of the European Law Institute and serves on its Membership Committee.

Areas of interest: EU law, environmental law, administrative law, constitutional law, international law, tax law, human rights.

Sjef van Erp 

Sjef van Erp is a professor of civil law and European private law at Maastricht University (The Netherlands), where he teaches foundations of Ius Commune, comparative, European and Dutch property law.

He is also deputy justice at the Court of Appeals in ‘s-Hertogenbosch.

Professor Van Erp is president of the Netherlands Comparative Law Association, editor-in-chief of the European Journal of Comparative Law and Governance (formerly: Electronic Journal of Comparative Law) and editor-in-chief of the recently established European Property Law Journal.

He is a member of the American Law Institute. He initiated and is now co-editor of the Ius Commune Casebooks for the Common Law of Europe: Cases, materials and text on property law.

Professor Van Erp is a Founding Member of the European Law Institute.

Areas of interest: property law, conflict of laws, comparative law, legal theory, history of law.

John Sorabji

John Sorabji is the Principal Legal Adviser to the Lord Chief Justice and Master of the Rolls.

In addition to his work for the Lord Chief Justice and Master of the Rolls he is a Senior Fellow at University College London’s Judicial Institute, where he lectures on Principles of Civil Justice and Alternative Dispute Resolution. He has also been an Honorary Professor in University College, London's Faculty of Law, and held Visiting Professorships at Université Paris-II. He was the assistant editor of the Civil Justice Quarterly and is a current assistant editor of the International Journal of Procedural Law.  He is also an editorial board member of Civil Procedure (The White Book) and editor of Civil Procedure News. He is a Governor of the Expert Witness Institute.

Dr. Sorabji is a Founding Member of the European Law Institute.

Areas of interest: administrative law, constitutional law, human rights, procedural law and dispute resolution, particularly the aims and purposes of procedure, and class actions.